'Seklusyon' dominates MMFF 2016 awards, complete list of winners here

Sunday Beauty Queen won the Best Picture award among the 8 entries of the 42nd Metro Manila Film Festival. The documentary that focused on the lives of Filipino OFWs also won for Best Editing and the special awards Gatpuno Antonio J. Villegas Cultural Award and Children's Choice Award.

But it was Erik Matti's horror-thriller Seklusyon that dominated the festival's awards night, taking home a total of 9 awards including Best Director  for Erik Matti, Best Supporting Actress (Phoebe Walker), Best Cinematography, Best Screenplay, Best Theme Song, Best Musical Score,Best Sound Design, Special Jury Prize (Rhed Bustamante), and Male Celebrity of the Night (Ronnie Alonte).

(Image Credit: @mmffofficial)

The LGBT film Die Beautiful bagged 2 acting awards at the festival's Gabi ng Parangal including Best Actor for Paolo Ballesteros and Best Supporting Actor for Christian Bables. Netizens also picked the film as MMFF 2016's "My Most Favorite Film".

Another festival entry that gained multiple awards was Oro, a film about a community whose main livelihood is mining. Versatile thespian Irma Adlawan won as Best Actress for her feisty portrayal as the Barangay "Kapitana" who led her community's fight against an armed group who pretends to be government representatives, and disrupts the mining activities in their place.

Oro also won Best Ensemble Cast and the Fernando Poe Jr. Memorial Award for Excellence.

Best Actress Irma Adlawan with real life Kapitana whom she portrayed in Oro
(Image Credit:@mmffofficial)

Meanwhile, EJK won as Best Picture in the Short Film category and Jarell Serencio won as Best Director for Mga Bitoon sa Siyudad

Here's the complete list of winners:

Best Picture: Sunday Beauty Queen
Best Director: Erik Matti, Seklusyon 
Best Actor in a Leading Role: Paolo Ballesteros, Die Beautiful
Best Actress in a Leading Role: Irma Adlawan, Oro
Best Actor in a Supporting Role: Christian Bables, Die Beautiful
Best Actress in a Supporting Role: Phoebe Walker, Seklusyon
Best Ensemble Cast: Oro
Special Jury Prize: Rhed Bustamante, Seklusyon
Best Screenplay: Seklusyon
Best Cinematography: Seklusyon
Best Editing: Sunday Beauty Queen 
Best Sound Design: Seklusyon
Best Theme Song: "Dominus Miserere", Seklusyon 
Best Musical Score: Saving Sally 
Best Production Design: Seklusyon 
Best Float: Die Beautiful
Gatpuno Antonio J. Villegas Cultural Award: Sunday Beauty Queen
Fernando Poe Jr. Memorial Award: Oro
42nd MMFF My Most Favorite Film: Die Beautiful
Children’s Choice Award: Saving Sally, Sunday Beauty Queen, Vince & Kath & James
Male Celebrity of the Night: Ronnie Alonte
Female Celebrity of the Night: Rhian Ramos

Best Picture: EJK
Best Director: Jarell Serencio, Mga Bitoon sa Siyudad 
Best Screenplay: Mitatang
Best Work for Children: Passage of Life 
Special Jury Prize: Manila Scream
Got a comment? Drop us a tweet to @Buzzerdaily